Media archive

Inspiring street names for Zevenhuis business park

kevinzevenhuis on 6 april 2014



April 2014 – The streets in the Zevenhuis business park are named after people who gained international acclaim in the field of economics. The city council of Hoorn accepted the recommendations of the Committee on Naming Public Spaces.

For the time being, this relates to four roads: Jelle Zijlstra Road, Adam Smith Road, Milton Friedman Road en Jan Tinbergen Road.

Jelle Zijlstra (1918 – 2001) was the president of the Nederlandse Bank (Dutch Central Bank) from 1967 to 1981. Between 1952 and 1967 he served successively as the Minister for Economic Affairs, Minister of Finance and the Prime Minister of the Netherlands.

Adam Smith (1723 – 1790) is widely hailed as the father of modern economics and one of the founders of classical liberalism. Smith was a pioneer in the field of political economics.

Milton Friedman (1912 – 2006) won the 1976 Nobel Prize in Economics. Friedman is known as one of the founders of monetarism and a champion of free market capitalism.

Jan Tinbergen (1903 – 1994) was the first person to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics in 1969. Tinbergen was one of the founders of econometrics.